Short introductions of our plenarists

Krzysztof Matyjaszewski is a professor at the Department of Chemistry of Carnegie Mellon University.  He is one of the most known polymer chemists in the world. He has been cited over 65 000 times in the scientific literature and is probably best known for the invention of atom transfer radical polymerization.  He will give a plenary titled: Bioconjugate Hybrid Materials Prepared by Atom Transfer Radical Polymerization

For more information about prof. Matyjaszewski see

H. Henning Winter is a professor at the Laboratory for Experimental Rheology at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. His current research focuses on experimental polymer rheology and novel polymeric materials through processing. He will give a plenary titled: Mysterious Gelation Rheology - More Questions than Answers

For more information on prof. Winter see

Françoise Winnik is a professor at the Faculty of Pharmacy and Department of Chemistry, University of Montreal. Her expertise encompasses the chemistry of water soluble, amphiphilc, synthetic and natural polymers, their self-assembly in water and their applications in nanomedicine and as delivery vehicles. She was among the first to study the physico-chemical properties of poly(N-isopropylacrylamide) “PNIPAM” in water. Her group has pioneered the applications of microcalorimetry, such as pressure perturbation calorimetry (PPC) and fluorescence techniques to study aqueous polymer solutions. She will give a plenary titled: Thermo/photo/pH sensitive nanogels as stabilizers of Pickering high internal phase emulsions

For more information about prof. Winnik see

Jan Vermant is a professor at the Soft Materials laboratory at Materials Department of ETH Zürich. His research focuses on the science and engineering on complex fluid-fluid interfaces, processing of multiphase materials and directed self-assembly, soft biological materials and rheology and structure formation in soft matter composites. He will give a plenary titled: Rheology of complex fluid-fluid interfaces.

For more information on prof. Vermant see:

Dr. Tsuguyuki Saito graduated from the University of Tokyo in 2003, and obtained his PhD from the same university in 2008. During his PhD studies he was awarded a Marie-Curie Fellowship, which supported his work with Dr. Nishiyama at CERMAV, France. He also worked as a visiting scientist with Prof. Lars Berglund at the Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden during 2012 and 2013. He is currently working as an Associate Professor at the University of Tokyo. Prof. Saito is one of the pioneers of applying TEMPO-mediated oxidation on cellulose and he was recently awarded the Marcus Wallenberg Prize for his achievements in this area. He will give a plenary titled: Cellulose Nanofiber: Structures and Fundamental Properties.

Dr. Niklas Nordgren is a group manager at SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden where he is heading a surface technology group. His research interests include surface modification, contact mechanics and nanotribology. He will give a plenary titled: Interfacial behavior of biomaterials at the nanoscale.

For information about SP chemistry, Materials and Surfaces see: